Makers of the Bratz, MGA’s Letter to it’s Fans

21 May

Recently MGA created a letter to it’s fans. This is what it says:

Dear Bratz Fans,

We WON!

On April 21, we won a court battle against Mattel. Bratz is-and always has been-owned by MGA Entertainment. Thank you for loyally supporting us as we fought against bullies trying to bring us down. You never gave up on us, and we will never give up on you.

Long Live Bratz

xoxo

Jade, Cloe, Yasmin, Sasha

Wow. What a bold letter coming from MGA. I am so excited that Bratz have finally won the court case. I guess if you can create some bold dolls, you can write a bold letter too, huh MGA?. I was also one of the ones who stood by MGA, and at one point bashed Mattel and felt they were bullies…until I grew up and got the true story. I honestly know that MGA started the court mess. However, I did feel that MGA was the best company to make the Bratz, even if they started the fight. I just couldn’t see Mattel creating the Bratz. But now, I’m not too sure, looking at their recent lines. Yet, as long as it’s MGA, I’m sure eventually they will hear our cries, as they have shown themselves to listen to their fans. Mattel has never listened to one email I’ve sent them. MGA always has and responded with a REAL email, not a form letter.

However, is this letter appropriate? When Mattel had their victory two years ago, no one heard anything from them. It was a silent victory, and maybe because they knew they were wrong, or they realized how inappropriate it was. There are some Bratz fans that are also Barbie fans, and like both companies. To outwardly bash another company, and to show a lack of sportsmanship, can be detrimental to the company as a whole. Mattel wasn’t right, but MGA wasn’t innocent in this whole trial either. It would’ve been best to keep silent on the issue and praise the Bratz success without mentioning Mattel company, trying to damage another company’s reputation. Mattel is still respected by people. And some people, even Bratz fans, have loyalties to Mattel. And with Mattel’s recent Monster High line, they showed that they can be true competition and live up to their business practices that helped them continue all of these years. That line showed MGA that they shouldn’t underestimate their opponents. No one knows what Mattel has up their sleeves.

What does everyone else think about the letter? Do you think MGA should’ve come outright in mentioning their struggles with Mattel? Leave a comment and let me know!

2 Responses to “Makers of the Bratz, MGA’s Letter to it’s Fans”

  1. Melanie 2011/06/03 at 06:07 #

    Loved your blog about the whole scandal πŸ™‚

    I’m pretty much a Barbie fan (don’t get me wrong, I always wanted to have the bratz babies)

    Any who.. To be honest I do like the letter that MGA released.. I think it is bold and very straight to the point…. But I do believe that it may be a sign of future disaster.

    Im glad they didn’t stay quite though.. Because how will the public know what is going on?

    Loved it πŸ™‚

    Like

    • generationnext 2011/06/26 at 16:59 #

      Thank you. I appreciate your support.

      Yes, its kind of a bitter-sweet thing. πŸ˜‰ ya know, where I think that the public should be aware, but at the same time, I feel that it could be MGA’s worst business move ever.

      I think though the problem rests on both shoulder. Calling Mattel a bully…hmm…to me both were the bullies in this matter. It was more like a war.

      I grew up on Barbie, I didn’t get Bratz until my tween-to-teen years. So I have loyalties to both lines. That’s why it breaks my heart when the companies bash each other.

      Again, thank you so much for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

