The REAL “American Girls” who brought the American Girl dolls to life!

8 Jan

For my winter break, I decided to read the American Girl books that have been collecting dust in my closet for a couple of years (except Caroline of course). While reading, I happened to glance at the second and third pages of each book. Ya’ know, the copyright pages and the page that says “For …..” I read the name Caitlin Waite on the inside of one of the Kit Kittredge books. The author was thanking the illustrator and this young lady Caitlin for the illustrations.

So my curious mind decided to type the two names in the search bar at Google, the place to find just about anything, and I found two girls who modeled for two American Girls. I also found out other inspirations behind other American Girls.

Kit Kittredge

Kit Kittredge (aka Caitlin Waite) She was the inspiration behind the Kit Kittredge pictures in the book series!

Kit Kittredge

Kit Kittredge

Reference!

Kanani (aka Jessica). She's the model for American Girl Girl of the Year 2011. So many people said Kanani didn't look like a real Hawaiian, but she is inspired from a real girl. Maybe we just fall into stereotypes...

Kanani (aka Jessica). She’s the model for American Girl Girl of the Year 2011. So many people said Kanani didn’t look like a real Hawaiian, but she is inspired from a real girl. Maybe we just fall into stereotypes…

Kanani Akina

Kanani Akina

Reference!

She was the model for Marie-Grace! She's older now.

(At left) She was the model for Marie-Grace! She’s older now.

Marie-Grace Gardner

Marie-Grace Gardner

More trivia:

*The original illustrations for Addy were inspired from Melodye Rosales’s daughter (Melodye is the original illustrator for the Addy series). The new Addy illustrations were inspired from a girl from Albany that Dayl Taylor (the new illustrator) met in a local center.

*Marie-Grace is inspired from Christine Kornacki’s (the illustrator for Marie-Grace and Cecile) sister, and Cecile is inspired from her friend’s niece.

*Dan Andreasen was inspired from his daughter for the newest illustrations from the Samantha series.

This was just a short, brief article on my discovery that I wanted to share. Maybe you found more information about the illustrators and their models. Maybe you know the models personally. Or you just find this interesting and would like to do your own research. Leave me a comment below if you do! I really would appreciate more information about the American Girl models.

5 Responses to “The REAL “American Girls” who brought the American Girl dolls to life!”

  1. Caitin 2014/03/04 at 03:53 #

    That’s me! I’m Caitlin Waite, I’m 23 now.

    Like

    • generationnext 2014/03/04 at 04:57 #

      OMG! What an honor! This is definitely a trip down memory lane for you, huh? Well, this article is a shout-out to the real American Girls.

      Do you ever go back through the books and say, “That was me at 9 years old” ? lol

      23! You are all grown up now! I’m the same age.

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. 🙂

      Like

    • Blake 2014/03/12 at 05:17 #

      Nice to have you here, Caitlin! I actually stumbled upon here after doing some random googling about Kit. Being the curious lad that I am I did some more google-fu and saw your myspace/facebook profiles. I thought of sending you a friend request once but I declined as I’m not that up to bursting your bubble privacy-wise. 🙂

      Like

    • Evanne Haag 2014/08/25 at 23:35 #

      Caitlin its me Evanne! AKA Ruthie Smithens 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. American Girl’s Beforever | Generation Next - 2014/09/08

    […] The “Real” American Girl models who brought the dolls to life! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

